Australian Building and Construction Commission

The Australian Building and Construction Commission (ABCC) promotes an improved workplace relations framework to ensure that building work is carried out fairly, efficiently and productively for the benefit of all building industry participants, without distinction, and for the benefit of the Australian economy as a whole.

The ABCC has four regions: Northern (QLD), Eastern (NSW and ACT), Southern (VIC and TAS) and Western (WA, SA and NT). Each region comprises a multi-disciplinary team of investigators from varied backgrounds including law enforcement and industrial relations, and lawyers who manage the ABCC’s legal proceedings. The regions are supported by four groups that operate nationally: the Office of the Commissioner, Corporate, the Building Code Group and the Office of the General Counsel.